Skip Navigation

School History

 

The original Eloise Japhet Elementary was opened on February 9, 1945 at 305 Austin Street using a two-story building,which was formerly known as De Zavala Elementary.  The opening of this school for the physically handicapped child was a dream come true for the thirty students and their parents.  It was the only public school in San Antonio that served handicap students up to the 12th grade.

Mrs. Eloise Japhet, the namesake of our school, was instrumental in opening this unique school, the only public school in Texas that devoted its entire time to educate exceptional children especially those who were crippled.

In 1948 additional classrooms were added which were equipped for the deaf and low vision students.

 In 1964-1965 Japhet moved to a new building at its present location, 314 Astor Street. There were thirteem classrooms, a cafeteria, a lbrary, a general clinic and dental clinic. Offices included a physician and psychologist.

In 1990 Japhet enrolled its first non-disable students. Today, Japhet serves both disabled and non-disabled students. The students are maninstreamed together.

In 2003-2004 school year, Japhet had 30 regular Education Classrooms and 2 Special Education Classrooms with an enrollment of 623 students.

Japhet now has a PreK-3 to 5 grade program where No Child Is Left Behind and where our motto is Parent-Child-Community-School Hand-In-Hand. We are proud to be in SAISD.

COPYRIGHT © 2016 - SAN ANTONIO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM